Reading Roundup: Week 0

I’ve decided to make a post sharing whatever interesting links on politics, policy, economics etc that I’ve found during the week. As this is the first week, I will likely change the format as I go along (e..g haven’t decided how I want to share new/old research papers).  Also, the list is a little longer than planned, but that is because some of the articles are a couple weeks old.

Politics:

Mobilization vs. Persuasion: http://www.vox.com/2016/8/18/12515240/clinton-win-georgia-iowa-red-states

Beyond Social Movement Unionism https://www.jacobinmag.com/2016/08/beyond-social-movement-unionism/

Decline of Unions and Rise of Trump: http://www.nytimes.com/2016/08/14/opinion/sunday/the-decline-of-unions-and-the-rise-of-trump.html

What Would it Take to Flip the House: http://election.princeton.edu/2016/08/12/what-would-it-take-for-the-house-to-flip/#more-16862

Optimism and Nostalgia Among Clinton/Trump Supporters: http://www.people-press.org/2016/08/18/3-views-of-the-country-and-feelings-about-growing-diversity/

The Working Families Party endorses Clinton: https://www.thenation.com/article/working-families-party-gives-eyes-wide-open-endorsement-to-hillary-clinton/

The future of the Left in Europe: http://prospect.org/article/future-left-europe

Policy:

Jason Furman on the decline of the LFPR among prime aged men (labor): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tCOfP3e9Co8

Vox on the Public Option (healthcare): http://www.vox.com/2016/8/18/12520820/public-option-health-care-obamacare

Susan Rice Interview (foreign policy): http://www.vox.com/2016/8/18/12387600/susan-rice-vox

Interaction between Emission Reduction and Technological Improvements (climate change): https://news.mit.edu/2016/reducing-emissions-improving-technology-mutually-reinforcing-cycle-0808
Incarceration Rates and Racial Disparities (prison reform) : https://www.brennancenter.org/blog/despite-progress-prison-racial-disparities-persist

Economics (General):

Unequal Gains and Income Inequality: https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/wonk/wp/2016/07/01/income-inequality-today-may-be-the-highest-since-the-nations-founding/

Why Women Are No Longer Catching Up to Men On Pay: https://fivethirtyeight.com/features/why-women-are-no-longer-catching-up-to-men-on-pay/

The Second Big Shift (Re: Government Bond): http://www.economist.com/news/finance-and-economics/21703380-relationship-between-equity-and-bond-values-has-changed-again-second-big

U.S., An Outlier on life expectancy and health care spending: https://ourworldindata.org/the-link-between-life-expectancy-and-health-spending-us-focus

Economics (Technical):

The State of Macro and the Future of DSGE: http://bruegel.org/2016/08/the-state-of-macro-redux/

Sticky Wages, Overrated? : http://marginalrevolution.com/marginalrevolution/2016/08/are-sticky-nominal-wages-the-most-overrated-idea-in-economics.html

Testing Piketty’s Hypothesis on the Drivers of Income Inequality: Evidence from Panel VARs with Heterogeneous Dynamics:

https://www.imf.org/external/pubs/ft/wp/2016/wp16160.pdf

Econometrics Reading Group: https://www.reddit.com/r/EconPapers/comments/4yjjo6/mostly_harmless_econometrics_reading_group/?st=is1wv1ov&sh=b65dbcaf

 

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s